The world centre of medical technology

The cluster goes far beyond the town of Tuttlingen and extends to numerous communities in the area. It is difficult to give an exact number of associated companies. Approximately 400 companies are allocated to the cluster. The vast majority of them has less than 20 employees, the largest has more than 3,000 employees.

A large part of the companies in Tuttlingen operate worldwide. More than 65% of the production is exported, mainly in the major markets in the EU and in the US, but also to South America and Asia. Even in the banking world of Tuttlingen, this situation is being reflected in correspondingly proportioned overseas departments.

Many of the companies in Tuttlingen pursue a long-term sustainable growth strategy in a growing global market. In recent years - with the exception of the year 2009 -, the number of employees in the industry raised steadily, so that there´s already a noticeable lack of skilled workers, what makes it very interesting for people from outside of Tuttlingen to work in this area.

Because of that the companies in Tuttlingen engage themselves to ensure the supply of young talents and professionals. Thus, the local companies invest a lot in training activities. A training rate of eight to ten percent is no exception in larger companies.

The metal industry of Tuttlingen has therefore a long tradition.

In the 17th century the ducal iron smelting plant was founded in Ludwigstal at the gates of the city. And even that was not accidental since there were large amounts of Bohnerz around Tuttlingen that just needed to be picked up.

In the vicinity of the smelting plant there were settlements of knife- and nailsmithys and 1866 the craft was developed in an industry. Gottfried Jetter founded a factory for the manufacture of surgical instruments and laid the foundation stone of Tuttlingens medical technology.

In addition to the medical technology there a well reputed companies in Tuttlingen that work in the fields of mechanical engineering, automotive and biotechnology as well as numerous service providers. All ensure that the income of Tuttlingen lays significantly above and that the unemployment rate is below the average.

As the "world centre of medical technology", Tuttlingen is a city in which around 180 patents are filed each year and its products are exported worldwide.

The approximately 21,000 social insurance contributions are operating mostly in the manufacturing sector. At the 2nd place are the employees of the service sector. On the 3rd position are people who are working in the retail, hospitality and transportation.

Tuttlingen ist das Weltzentrum der Medizintechnik.

Das Cluster geht weit über die Stadt Tuttlingen hinaus und erstreckt sich auch auf zahlreiche Gemeinden in der Umgebung. Es ist schwer, eine genaue Anzahl der dazugehörigen Unternehmen anzugeben. Für die Stadt Tuttlingen werden etwa 400 Unternehmen dem Cluster zugerechnet. Davon hat die überwiegende Mehrzahl weniger als 20 Beschäftigte, das größte bietet alleine am Standort Tuttlingen über 3.000 Menschen Arbeit

Ein Großteil der Tuttlinger Unternehmen agiert weltweit. Mehr als 65% der Produkte geht in den Export, vor allem in die wichtigen Märkte der EU und in den USA, aber auch nach Südamerika und Asien wird erfolgreich exportiert. Selbst in der Tuttlinger Bankenwelt spiegelt sich diese Situation in entsprechend proportionierten Auslandsabteilungen wider.

Viele der Unternehmen in Tuttlingen verfolgen eine langfristige und nachhaltige Wachstumsstrategie in einem weltweit wachsenden Markt. In den letzten Jahren - mit Ausnahme des Jahres 2009 - nahm die Zahl der in der Branche Beschäftigten stets zu, so dass sich schon früh ein ausgeprägter Fachkräftemangel bemerkbar macht.

Die Tuttlinger Unternehmen engagieren sich aus diesem Grund schon seit vielen Jahren, um die Versorgung mit Nachwuchs- und Fachkräften sicherzustellen. So investieren die ansässigen Unternehmen sehr viel in die Ausbildungstätigkeit. Eine Ausbildungsquote von acht bis zehn Prozent ist auch in größeren Unternehmen keine Ausnahme.

Die Metallindustrie kann dabei in Tuttlingen auf eine lange Tradition zurück blicken.

Schon im 17. Jahrhundert wurde im Ludwigstal vor den Toren der Stadt das herzogliche Eisenschmelzwerk gegründet. Und auch das war kein Zufall: Rund um Tuttlingen gab es nämlich große Mengen an Bohnerz - einen Rohstoff, den man eigentlich nur aufheben musste. 

In der Nähe des Schmelzwerks siedelten sich Messer- und Nagelschmiede an, und 1866 wurde aus dem Handwerk eine Industrie. Gottfried Jetter gründete eine Fabrik zur Herstellung chirurgischer Instrumente und legte damit den Grundstein der Tuttlinger Medizintechnik.

Neben der Medizintechnik arbeiten in Tuttlingen auch renommierte Firmen aus den Bereichen Maschinenbau, Automobilzulieferung und Biotechnologie sowie zahlreiche Dienstleister. Sie alle sorgen dafür, dass die Tuttlinger Einkommen deutlich über und Arbeitslosenquote unter dem Durchschnitt liegen.

 

Als Weltzentrum der Medizintechnik ist Tuttlingen eine Stadt, in der rund 180 Patente pro Jahr angemeldet werden und deren Produkte weltweit exportiert werden.

Die rund 21.000 sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten sind in der Mehrheit im produzierenden Gewerbe tätig. An der 2. Stelle stehen die Beschäftigten des Dienstleistungssektors. Auf die 3. Stelle entfallen Menschen, die im Bereich Handel, Gastgewerbe und Verkehr tätig sind.